We had just had our picnic by the river Spey in glorious February sunshine when we came across the bridge of Advie.
We were exactly half-way between Grantown and Knockando:
The original bridge was wooden and known as ‘The Bridge of Tulchan Pool”:
Completed in 1922, the “new” bridge consists of three reinforced concrete trusses on robustly paired concrete piers with graceful arcading, complete with airy octagonal openings:
A plaque on the bridge credits its building to the Yorkshire Hennebique Company. Their adoption of the name of Francois Hennebique – the French engineer who pioneered the development and use of reinforced concrete – signals their prime interest and the 1922 Bridge of Advie makes a captivating example of the firm’s skill.
The plaque on the bridge also recalls the key role of the County Surveyor and Engineer, Alexander Hogg, in its construction:
Alexander Hogg deserves every congratulation for his vision and enterprise:
The Bridge was opened by Mrs McCorquodale of Dalchroy. She and her husband were great fishers, indeed it is recorded that her husband, George Frederick McCorquodale, caught 8,924 salmon in the Spey and that his favorite fly was the Jock Scott. Edward VII was a regular visitor to Dalchroy and used to fish the Tulchan pool with the McCorquodales.
George Frederick McCorquodale was painted by John Singer Sargent:
The Bridge of Advie is Listed:
The inhabitants of this beautiful reach of Morayshire will have found this bridge essential for everyday life, and for visitors like us there was much enjoyment to be had from the chance discovery of such a beautiful bridge.